44 Days of Witchery- Day 6: A favorite God.

My favorite god, by far, is the Celtic god Cernunnos, Lord and Master of the Wild Hunt. I’ve always felt a strong connection to Cernunnos even if he isn’t a god that is usually associated with my particular faith. That being said, here is a wonderful tidbit on his history:

 The Celts made numerous models, or icons, of their various gods, and there are over 60 depicting Cernunnos, from all over Europe. We only know his name because it is carved on a single one of these, made by sailors from the Gallic Parisii tribe (from whom Paris got its name) in the first century AD, by which time Gaul (modern France) had become a Roman province. The earliest image of him that has been found was carved on rock in Northern Italy in the 4th century BC. We do not know how widespread the use of this exact name was: it is possible that this was the name for this antlered god to no-one but the Parisii themselves, but the structure of the name suggests otherwise.

I found this really nice description of how he looks, which might hint at one of the reasons I have such a strong attraction to him: 

The images of him are unusually consistent. His main attribute are his horns, those of a stag. He is usually portrayed as a mature man with long hair and a beard. He wears a torc: this was an ornate neck-ring worn by the Celts to denote nobility. He often carries other torcs in his hands or hanging from his horns.

He is usually portrayed seated and cross-legged, in the meditative or shamanic position.

Cernunnos is nearly always portrayed with animals, in particular the stag. He is also frequently associated with a unique beast that seems to belong only to him: a serpent with the horns of a ram. Less often he is associated with other beasts, including bulls, dogs and rats.

The ram-horned serpent is particularly interesting. The serpent occurs in myths all across the world, and is nearly always associated with knowledge. Usually these associations are purely pagan, but remember that it was a serpent that tempted Eve to eat from the tree of knowledge. It is also commonly associated with death and the otherworld, and is hence described as cthonic. Cernunnos carries it in his left hand, and in his right he carries a torc, the Celtic symbol of nobility, the symbol of having been initiated into that special state.

And of course, because he is a Celtic God, there is a song to him, which is rather beautiful and would definitively work in paying homage to him: 

The Song of Amergin (Sung by Amergin) 

I am a stag of seven tines,
I am a wide flood on a plain,
I am a wind on the deep waters,
I am a shining tear of the sun,
I am a hawk on a cliff,
I am fair among flowers,
I am a god who sets the head afire with smoke.
I am a battle waging spear,
I am a salmon in the pool,
I am a hill of poetry,
I am a ruthless boar,
I am a threatening noise of the sea,
I am a wave of the sea,
Who but I knows the secrets of the unhewn dolmen ? 


Lastly I will share with you the Invocation for the Horned God Found at the American Neopaganism

Invocation of the Horned God

I am the Konig Hirsch, 
the Stag King, the Horned God,
Lord of the Wild Things.

I was known in other times as
Pan and Dionysos to the Hellenes,
Dianus and Bakkhos to the Romuli,
Cernennus to the Gauls,
Shiva to the Brahmins,
and by many names which are now forgotten.

I am the hound of Chulainn,

the Stag of Redynvre,
the Eagle of Gwern Abwy,
and the Salmon of Llyn Llyw.
I am the spirit of the animal kingdom,
the god of virility and physical love.

I am the bull that has begotten the serpent,

and I rejoice in the cow.
I was the broad-backed bull to Europa,
the long-necked swan to Leda,
and the black-fleeced goat to Selene.

I am Eros, the energy of life.
At my lap stands the rising cedar.

When the torches are extinguished,
and the purpled phallos
is plunged into the Holy Delta,
in that consummation, there in the dark,
lies the salvation of all.

Thou art my son.
Seek me with love and with strength
for this is my path:
Strength through joy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

