Introduction to Oils

I was going to just jump in and start with a recipe for one of my favorite Oils for protection. Then I realized that maybe you, dear reader, don’t know how to make your own Oils! This is a novel idea for me since I’ve been making my own oils for a long time. In fact…I think it was one of the first things I started doing when I became interested in Witchcraft and Wicca. Now that I practice Shamanistic Paganism, I still make my own oils. 

I borrowed this wonderful how to from Blessed Be, which is a wonderful resource: 

Beginning Tips:

A good place to start is with 2 ounces oil per 2 tablespoons herb or flower. Remember a little oil goes a long way. You can use Mineral Oil or some other neutral carrier oil to absorb the scent and properties of the herb.*

It is helpful to visualize the purpose for which you are making the oil throughout the process or you can say a little chant pertaining to that certain oil while making it to add more of your energy and power to it.

It is important that you cap the jars tightly or you will have moldy mixtures. Remember the darker the bottle, the better your oil will keep. Add tincture of benzoin to preserve your oils.

Making your own Essential Oils:

Pour your oil into your mortar. Add your herb a little at a time, pressing it into the oil with your pestle. After you have combined it well, pour it into a bottle. Store the bottle in a dark, consecrated place for three days. On the fourth day check oil to see if it has absorbed enough of the scent.

You can repeat this process of scenting your oil until its as strong as you desire. When the scent is right for you it is ready for use in your spellwork. Strain with cheesecloth, store in tightly capped dark glass bottles with a little tincture of benzoin to preserve.

Common Essential Oil Measurements:

  • 1 drop = 0.05 ml
  • 1 ml = 20 drops
  • 1 teaspoon = 5 ml
  • 1 teaspoon = 100 drops
  • 1 tablespoon = 15 ml
  • 1 tablespoon = 300 drops
  • 1 ounce = 30 ml
  • 1 ounce = 600 drops

If you don’t have a mortar and pestle, which I don’t, there is absolutely nothing wrong with using a plastic bowl that you don’t mind getting a little fragrant. The wonderful thing about making your own oils is that you are free, once you know the properties of several herbs, you can mix the oils I give you, add some things, subtract them, it’s really up to you. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

